

Southeast Montana Board of Directors Subcommittee/Task Force Roster

Committee and Task Force development per SEMT Bylaws: The Chair of the Corporation may designate and establish such committees and task forces as he or she considers appropriate to carry into effect the objectives and purposes of the Corporation. A committee chairperson will be appointed by the members of the applicable committee at the committee's first meeting and as its first order of business. Committee meetings and task force meetings may be called at any time by the chairperson of the committee or task force or by the Chair of the Corporation. At any duly called meeting of a committee or task force, those present shall constitute a quorum. Each committee and task force shall study, investigate and make recommendations to the Board of Directors on subjects within the general scope of activity assigned to it by the Chair of the Corporation or which subsequently may be referred to it by the Chair of the Corporation or the Board.

COMMITTEES AND TASK FORCES/CURRENT

Nominating Committee (Per Bylaws: A nominating committee of the Board of Directors, which shall consist of five (5) committee members as designated by the Chair of the Corporation, shall submit the name or names of nominees for Board membership to the full Board at such time or times as determined by the Board. The nominating committee shall consist of the Immediate Past Chair of the Corporation (who will serve as the chairperson of the committee), the incoming Chair of the Corporation, two (2) at-large directors; and a past Chair of the Corporation. The President/CEO of the Corporation shall serve as a non-voting member of the nominating committee.

Committee: Chip Watts (Immediate Past Chair); Jeff Ewelt (Incoming Chair); John Laney (Past Chair); Mindy Kohn (At-Large); Diane Murnion (At-Large) John Brewer (ex-officio)

Staff Role: Participate in discussion and offer recommendations

Executive Committee: Per bylaws: The Executive Committee shall consist of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary/Treasurer, President/CEO, and the Immediate Past Chair. In the event the Executive Committee has an even number of persons for any reason, the Board of Directors shall appoint a then existing director of the Corporation to the Executive Committee. Each member of the Executive Committee shall have one (1) vote, excluding the President/CEO who shall have no voting rights. The Chair of the Corporation shall be the chairperson of the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee shall have authority over policies, procedures, operations and fiscal affairs, including regular and periodic review of the finances of the Corporation. The Executive Committee does not have actionable voting power unless specifically assigned to it by the Board.

<u>Committee: Dale Galland (Chair)</u>; Jeff Ewelt (Vice Chair); Sabre Moore (Sec/Treasurer); Chip Watts (Immediate Past Chair); John Brewer (ex-officio)



Cooperative Marketing Grant Committee: Assist in development and/or revision of application, select recipients, provides feedback and updates on improving the process. Gateway Visitor Center grant development and awards are also under the grants committee purview.

<u>Committee Members:</u> Chip Watts (Chair); Peggy Iba; OPEN (Open for more members)

<u>Staff Role:</u> Initiate grant process; evaluate applicants for compliance; monitor recipients for compliance.

Marketing Projects Committee This group will evaluate marketing opportunities and advise staff using their professional and tourism industry expertise. Typical projects may include, but is not limited to, website, maps, itineraries and trade shows. Although the travel guide is a private fund-collaborative project, the committee will recommend the top 2-4 guide book covers to full board for review and vote.

Committee Members: Sabre Moore (Chair); Jessica Malone; Leslie Jansen

Bylaws Committee This group will be charged with reviewing the Visit SEMT Bylaws and making recommendations for any changes to the full Board. The committee will be sunset at that time.

Committee Members: Last amended 11/2014

Private Revenue Projects Committee This group will work with Marketing Director and Agency of Record to oversee private (unrestricted) fund projects.

<u>Committee Members</u>: Sabre Moore; Shyla Hadley; and Dale Galland. Committee created at 9.19.17 Board meeting.

Legislative Committee This group will identify, prioritize and address issues of importance to SEMT tourism. The Committee will work with Dan Brooks, Billings Chamber of Commerce Business Advocacy Manager, to produce a one-page policy guide, communicating the advocacy positions and guiding the lobbying work of SEMT before the next legislative session (in 2019). These recommended positions in the public policy guide will be presented to, and approved by, the SEMT Board of Directors for consideration and approval.

<u>Committee Members</u>: Dan Brooks; John Laney; Nicole Borner; Peggy Iba; Beth Epley; and, Sandy Watts

Committee created at 9.19.17 Board meeting



BOARD LIAISONS TO SPECIFIC ACTIVITIES:

Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument/VIC (Liaison to the board relating to issues specific to the development of LBHB VIC progress)

<u>Chip Watts</u>

Legislative Issues (Liaison to the board relating to issues specific to tourism legislation. Liaison with Tourism Matters statewide political action group)

<u>John Laney</u>

Amended 9.9.18 - bjm